Things to do when in Colombo, Sri Lanka

A city well known by ancient traders for its natural harbour and popular in this new age for modernization with a mix of vivid cultures. Colombo is the heart of finance and commerce in Sri Lanka. It is also popular on the tourist map for its many sights, its unique culture and an entertaining night life.

In a previous post I tried my best to a create a quick guide on the Sri Lankan city of Colombo, now let me share with you guys some amazing things one can do when in Colombo.

Rent a Motorcycle

There are many well maintained motorcycles available for rent in Colombo. Getting a driver’s license is quite easy and takes about 4 hours, so get a bike and travel by the coast. It offers picturesque views of the sea and takes you through some quaint and beautiful villages.

Colombo Marine Sea Face

Visit Galle Face Green

This is an oceanside urban park which stretches for half kilometer along the coast. It was initially used for horse racing and as a golf course, but it is now open for public and is a popular sight for locals as well as tourists.

Visit Gangaramaya Vihara Temple

This is one of the most esteemed and highly venerable temples in Colombo, Sri Lanka. It is a mix of Sri Lankan, Indian, Thai and Chinese modern architecture and rich spiritual essence. The temple is located on a patch of land in the waters of Beira Lake.

Walk by the Beira Lake

It is said that this lake is the heart of Colombo city. During the Portuguese and the English rule this lake was used for transportation of goods within the city. Today the lake offers amazing views of the business district of the city.

Eat some Kottu

This is a unique Sri Lankan street food with its main ingredient being a paratha or a roti which is then cooked with veggies, eggs, or some meat of your choice. The most delicious Kottu I had was from a street vendor in the Pettah Market.

Spend an evening at the Viharamahadevi Park

This is a public park in Colombo located next to the National Museum and named after Queen Viharamahadevi. The park has a huge Buddha statue, series of water fountains and a small zoo. It is a place of calm and quiet in this busy city.

Colombo Regal

Visit the Independence Memorial Hall

This is built in celebration of the independence of Sri Lanka from the British rule and most of the National Independence Day celebrations are held here. I’ve heard this place comes alive during these celebrations with parades and beautiful floats.

Go Club Hopping

I met some amazing people and had a blast during my last nights in Sri Lanka. I spent these nights well by club hopping in Colombo and while a few times I came back to my room super drunk, I have no regrets.

These are my personal experiences which I really enjoyed during my time in Colombo. Let me know if I should try something else the next time I’m in the city.

Published by

Joker or the Thief

A Student, Blogger and a Digital Artist

Leave a Reply

